New Tech From Apple – Gotta Love It!

wwdc 2013 mac pro 13

On Monday June 10 Apple unveiled its latest and greatest new technology that has the Mac fans and the tech world abuzz. From cheapest to most expensive tech, Apple introduced the following at the June 10 WorldWide Developer Conference (WWDC) which was presided by CEO Tim Cook.

iTunes Radio – New to the iTunes and the Apple music universe, customized stations built for you and radio you can build for yourself. Coming this fall to an iOS and OSX device near you. Music will stream for free with ads or users can opt for a $25 yearly subscription to iTunes Match.

iOS 7 – A new operating system for iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch. Looks very pretty (as usual) and new functionality built into it. As with any new OS this one leaves some of the older tech behind, most notably for me, my 4th generation iPod Touch. However, iOS7 will probably prompt me to get an iPad Mini which will be the first tablet device that I will probably buy.

OSX 10.9 “Mavericks” – Apple ran out of cat names they say, so the newest incarnation of OSX which will now be at 10.9.x is called “Mavericks”. Allegedly “Mavericks” is more like the traditional OSX that many of us know and love. “iOS-ification” of OSX has hopefully come to an end.

New MacBook Air – Apple’s thin and sexy laptop gets an update to a new processor (1.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i5) and 802.11ac Wi-Fi networking. Price for 11 inch MacBook Air stays at $999. The price for the 13 inch MacBook Air drops from $1199 to $1099. Wow!

New Mac Pro Computer – The new high end Mac Pro desktop computer coming this fall replaces the aging Mac Pro tower that has been in production since at least 2006. This new computer has an all new look –  basically a black cylinder with ports in the rear, a fan and handle on top and way smaller than its predecessor. It has all kinds of new technology built into it, but if you plan on expanding it internally (like previous Mac Pros) you are out of luck. All expansion options will be connected to this expensive wonder via Thunderbolt 2, USB 3, Ethernet or HDMI. The specs are too numerous to mention here. It is best to visit the Apple site on the MacPro and read other blogs in the coming days and weeks about Apple’s top of the line computer. Pricing is unknown, but you can bet this will not be cheap. Release date is sometime this fall.

What Do I Want? Quite simply I want them all. Frankly I can’t afford them all. Surely while I will lust for a new MacPro, practical financial reality is that I will probably never get one. I never got one of the old ones or even the current one. The last tower form factor Mac that I bought (and still own) is my Power Mac G4 Quicksilver tower. Since that was retired, I’ve been concentrating mostly on Mac laptops.

I’d like to get a MacBook Air, but I still like DVDs. I’ll probably get a new MacBook Pro, hopefully with a DVD Super Drive and OS X 10.9 “Mavericks”. That may be a pricey but affordable option.

The next hardware purchase for me will probably be an iPad Mini. Gotta get iOS7. And beyond that another iPod Touch that runs iOS7.

Software is always easier to get. Hopefully I will at some point get the new iTunes Radio, but will only use it as a free streaming service. I am already on several other streaming audio services, and I only use the free options. I’ll write about digital audio and streaming in an upcoming post.

That all said, if you want to get down to the nitty gritty details of all that was unveiled this week by Apple, look no further than the folks at TWIT where they discuss WWDC and the new Apple products in depth.

And if that is not enough for you, Todd at GeekNews Central has a different take on WWDC as well as other issues that have come up in the tech world this past week. His video is here:

About admin

Publisher of The Hawaii Files Blog, Hawaii Political Platter, Hawaii Radio & Television Guide, and much more. Look me up at http://macprohawaii.com
This entry was posted in Apple, Commentary, iOS, iTunes, Mac OSX, Mac Pro, MacBook Air, Music, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.